Weekly Assignment:Medium Fidelity UI Builder(Desktop version) 2 (V1 Due 3/9, V2 Due 3/23)

Assignment: Create a second Medium Fidelity Prototype using any focused desktop tool based off of the tasks from the Low Fidelity Prototype. You need to make decisions about your design language (typography, color, structure, images). It’s ok to use dummy text and images.

Version 1 (Due 3/8)

Please note my InVision Prototype Link is no longer active as  InVision having a limit of 3 projects for their free student trial. I have attached the power point slides for the same.

ww_desktop_v1

I decided to use InVision for my version 1 of my second medium fidelity prototype . This particular tool can be used online or an offline html page can be downloaded and used without internet. Moreover the account was free and very easy to create.there is also a very helpful feature like “hotspot” that allows users to use options like click or hover depending on the user how he/she wants to use the feature in the screen as. InVision  works pretty similar to how PowerPoint animation works.Moreover, it was easier and faster to create animations between the different pages, hence the navigation between pages was pretty easy.I was also able to add transitions that allowed the user to go back if they selected cancel. The one disadvantage I found for this prototyping tool (compared to PowerPoint) was that inability to animate. For example, in task 1 the user opens a hologram to select a location from the map. In PowerPoint I was able to use animation to show the hologram appearing, while in InVision it just went to the separate hologram page. For the prototype I used the images I created for my version 2 of last project that were mainly icon based.So when it comes to sharing your opinion and comments about the prototype with others in your team or to many other people,  using InVision as your UI tool,  it proves itself to be the best. Not only that it keeps a history of the same. Anyone who has access to the project can comment anywhere on the image. This could save time when collaborating and also keeps a record of the interaction that happens between team members. I also liked how they kept a record of what was uploaded and when. When many people are altering a prototype and something accidentally gets saved over, it can be back tracked and things can be made to fall in place.

Version 2 (Due 3/23)

Please note my InVision Prototype Link is no longer active as  InVision having a limit of 3 projects for their free student trial. I have attached the power point slides for the same.
ww_desktop_v2

I continued with InVision for my version two of the second medium fidelity prototype. I must say that InVision is a very powerful tool that must save prototypers enormous amounts of time. When creating my version two I was worried I would have to duplicate my efforts. I knew my version two would have updated screens, but I also knew that many of the screens, as well as the interactions would stay the same. However, I was delighted to find that you are able to copy whole prototypes. This includes images and hot spots you have set! I was able to copy my Version 1 prototype, including the screens and interactions, and create a Version 2. This allowed me to keep my Version 1 intact and unchanged and also enabled me to update different screens and interactions easily. The items in Version 2 that I kept the same as Version 1 remained untouched and I was able to save time and effort.I should say the only problem I faced with InVision is that it allows you to create, at max, 3 prototypes as the free trial. So if I continue to use this prototyping tool, the different versions I have created will be lost. If this happens I may choose to move onto a different tool in order to expand my prototyping horizons. Some tools I have been thinking about using includes Balsamiq or Axure. I think Balsamiq or Axure is something worth learning so I wanted to use it as many students in class are already using and I got more inspired after the class critique discussion with my classmates.

Reflection between V1 and V2

There were some very slight changes between Version 1 and Version 2 of the second medium fidelity prototype. During the in class critique, I wanted to show my prototype to a classmate who had not seen any of the designs. I wanted to do this because I recently switched over to a very icon based interface, and I wanted to make sure the icons were clear to the user. After my classmate when through the prototype they said that the icons were perfect and that they understood everything. They did have two suggestions they thought the arrows showing the modes like the protection mode and the attack mode are not clear enough so they wanted me to denote it using some meaningful icon that might add more sense to them. So I changed rather added an attack icon at the side of the attack arrow of two crossed swords that symbolizes attack and for protect mode I used an icon with a hand protecting a family , it might be considered as god’s hand.  So the icons helped the screen become self explanatory now. All in all, these changes were small, but I think they really increases the overall experience the user has with the prototype.I think that this prototyping skill is invaluable for designers. It is very important designers learn how to use robust prototyping software that is available to them because of how much time and effort it can save them. While I only used one tool for this assignment, I believe that InVision is similar to many other prototyping tools out there. By being able to learn how to use this tool, I am learning new skills I can apply to other tools in the future. I think InVision in particular is an amazing tool. Not only does it allow you create prototypes on different devices, but it had powerful features that make a designers life so much easier. Some of these features include being able to share your project multiple ways (link, offline, email, etc), being able to collaborate and leave comments, being able to copy/archive/delete items easily, and being able to load assets into your prototypes by simply dragging and dropping.I will be using this skill at my hobby of making hand made greeting card for my fiends., then I will get myself a  license for this software. So I already started to plan this in advance, to make sure I learn new things using this tool. May be the case that tomorrow I might come up with some more features about this prototyping tool, which I am unaware of today. Like a new thing that I learned was  you can copy prototypes which saves so much time. I also learned that you can share your prototype offline, which is very helpful for times where you may not be able to rely on the internet. Moreover I think learning this software will help me learn other prototyping tool with ease.

One thought on “Weekly Assignment:Medium Fidelity UI Builder(Desktop version) 2 (V1 Due 3/9, V2 Due 3/23)”

Leave a Reply

